Mum’s crumble topping

I’ve been eating this crumble topping since I was a kids. It isn’t the healthiest topping out there, but it works well for me: given my allergy to oats, it is rare that I can find a ‘healthier’ crumble topping that I can actually eat. This topping crisps up nicely when you get the balance right. Avoid stewed fruit with a lot of liquid and don’t go too overboard with the butter/margarine. I have tried adding spices, shredded and dessicated coconut, and chopped nuts: all of them work!

Mum’s crumble topping (base recipe)

1 cup brown sugar
1 cup self-raising flour
1/2 cup butter or magarine (I use Nuttelex)

Heat the oven to about 180c. Layer cooled, stewed fruit into a baking dish. 

Mix togther all the crumble ingredients, cutting through with a butter knife, until the mix is almost together. Toss lightly with your fingertips. Place in the fridge for about 15 minutes. 

Spread the topping over the fruit. Bake in the oven for about 35-40 minutes. 

This entry was posted in Desserts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

